EEA Grants

The history of the EEA and Norway Grants covers 25 years of European cooperation. In 1992, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway signed the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA Agreement).

The decision-making body of the EEA Grants is the Financial Mechanism Committee, which is composed of representatives of the Foreign Ministries of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The EEA Grants are available to 15 EU member countries, including Greece.

On 31 October 2017 Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway signed a new cooperation agreement with Greece on new programmes under the EEA Grants 2014-2021, and on 21 February 2019, a Programme Implementation Agreement was signed between the Financial Mechanism Office (FMO) & HumanRights360 and SOL CROWE. Both organizations, were selected by the FMO, to act as the Fund Operator (FO) for two EEA Grants Programmes, during the period 2019-2024, in Greece: Programme I. Local Development & Poverty Reduction, and Programme II. Asylum & Migration (Addressing urgent needs for the reception and screening of asylum seekers and for the accommodation of vulnerable groups).

The Programme I: Local Development & Poverty Reduction, with total budget: 6.500.000 EUR, aspires to contribute to enhancement of social cohesion and reduction of economic and social disparities.

The Program II: Asylum and Migration, with total budget:  16.500.000 EUR, aspires to contribute to ensuring legal protection, support and care for the most vulnerable asylum seekers, with emphasis on unaccompanied children.

Skip to content